Please wait...
Please wait...

Lumley to receive Rose d’Or lifetime award

Joanna Lumley in ITV travel doc Joanna Lumley’s Trans-Siberian Adventure

British actress and broadcaster Joanna Lumley will be honoured with a Rose d’Or lifetime achievement award in Berlin later this year.

Lumley’s 50-year career in entertainment has seen her become known globally for her role as Patsy in BBC sitcom Absolutely Fabulous, while she has also starred in The New Avengers, On Her Majesty’s Secret Service and The Wolf of Wall Street.

Most recently she has fronted numerous travel documentaries for UK broadcaster ITV and brought her iconic Absolutely Fabulous role to the big screen.

The Rose d’Or Awards will be held in Berlin on September 13, with Netflix’s The Crown, the BBC’s Peaky Blinders, Sky and ARD in Germany’s Babylon Berlin and Hulu’s The Handmaid’s Tale set to fight it out for best drama series.

Meanwhile, the BBC’s Cunk on Britain, Grotesco’s Seven Masterpieces – The Refugee Crisis: A Musical from Sweden’s SVT, Trixie Wonderland from WDR in Germany and Lip Synch Stories from VTM in Belgium have been nominated in the comedy category.

Acorn TV and the BBC’s Detectorists, Channel 4’s The Windsors, the BBC’s The Young Offenders and RTL in Germany’s Magda macht das schon! have been nominated for best sitcom.

The children and youth category will see the BBC’s Overshadowed and The Highway Rat go up against #tagged from KRO-NCRV/NPO 3 in the Netherlands and Find Me in Paris from ZDF in Germany, France Télévisions, Disney Channel in France and Italy and Hulu in the US.

Other categories include arts; gameshow; entertainment; augmented reality and virtual reality; reality and factual; and limited series and TV movie. The full list of nominations can be seen here.

“We’re pleased to see the number of entries for this year’s Rose d’Or was even higher than last year, which shows the power of these awards, in their 57th year, to engage the global entertainment community,” said Rose d’Or organiser Jeroen Depraetere, the European Broadcasting Union’s head of television.





, ,





Format Awards 2019
Please wait...

Send us your news by
clicking here