Please wait...
Please wait...

Itkin to receive C21/Frapa Gold award

Mark Itkin, currently co-head of television and a member of the board of directors at William Morris Endeavor (WME), is to receive the 2014 C21/Frapa Formats Gold Award, presented in association with MipFormats.

Mark Itkin

Mark Itkin

This award is given in recognition of outstanding achievement and contribution to the formats business.

One of the most prolific packagers of formatted television, Itkin graduated Summa cum Laude & Phi Beta Kappa from UCLA and followed it with a JD from Boalt Hall, UC Berkeley.

He was an associate in the music department of the law firm of Mitchell, Silberberg & Knupp, and joined the William Morris Agency in 1982, to become a television packaging agent specialising in first-run syndication, pay and basic cable television.

Itkin has packaged a broad range of television series including: The Real World, Project Runway, Hell’s Kitchen, Kitchen Nightmares, Deal or No Deal, Extreme Makeover: Home Edition, Tyler Perry’s House of Payne, Tyler Perry’s Meet the Browns, Big Brother, Fear Factor, People’s Court, The Ricki Lake Show, American Gladiators, Biggest Loser and Buffy the Vampire Slayer.

He has been a member of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences for 18 years, a two-term governor, and spent six years on the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences executive committee.

David Jenkinson, C21’s editor-in-chief & managing director, said: “We are delighted to present Mark with the Gold Award. His relentless passion for the international formats business has spawned more successes than just about any other executive in the business. He represents the heart and soul of the business and has a reputation for making things happen when nobody else thinks they can.”

Patty Geneste, chair of Frapa and MD of Absolutely Independent, added: “The whole Frapa board unamimously voted for Mark this year. We are proud he has accepted this award and look forward to many more successful format adaptations coming through WME in future.”

Previous Gold award winners have included Merv Griffin, Peter Bazalgette, Dick de Rijk, David Lyle and Stephen Lambert.
The award is decided annually by the C21 editorial team and Frapa board.

Itkin will be ‘in conversation’ at 6.15pm on Saturday, April 6 during MipFormats, before receiving his award on stage. You can find out more about MipFormats by clicking here.

Please wait...